Goto page 1, 2  Next
[subscribe]
Forums -> Showcase

A Hex-based 3D Battletech Map, My first attempt at a map

(You can check out my Project Archive thread for more of my work.)

This is my first attempt at creating maps or terrain. I wanted this project to be a test project where I could experiment with different techniques. I decided to make a map for my group's Battletech games. Battletech is normally played on either flat hex-based maps or larger 3-D free form terrain. I wanted to build a 3-D hex-based map. This would combine the simplicity of hex-based rules with the attractiveness and intuitiveness of 3-D terrain. This map would act as a teaching board for new players, so I wanted as great a variety of terrains and heights as possible.

I decided to build a tropical volcanic island, as this was terrain my group had never played on before. It would offer up different land heights and water depths, as well as the potential for lava! Unfortunately, I was denied access to my camera for almost the entire building phase of this project, so I only have a few pics from the very beginning and a bunch of completion pics.

I chose to work in foam, specifically extruded polystyrene insulating panels, as it was a material I had never worked with before. I was able to justify buying Hotwire foam cutting tools and making this practice map in part because I am a teacher. Every year our students have a Geography Fair where they research different countries and display what they have learned. 3-D maps and structures are popular parts of their displays. I plan to take the techniques I learn from this map and teach them to my students so they can use them in their projects.