Goto page 1, 2  Next
[subscribe]
Forums -> Work In Progress (WIP)

Crystal Tokens

Hello all, I am new to TerraGenesis! I decided to make an account after I found this website when I was searching for some ways on making crystal terrain and I found a lot of other cool things on this website!

So after a bit of searching I didn't find anything quite what I was looking for until I read some articles on
growing crystals, so I gave it a shot and grew some crystals with a mixture of Alum and water. Since I haven't seen something like this on this site I thought I would post my results.

Without further ado!

Image: 20140226031447

This is a Roof Tag that has been coated with glue and a dollop of plaster dust mixed with paint and glue.

Image: 20140226031609

The crystals I grew that are pushed into and glued into the plaster paint mix.

Image: 20140226031713

And this is several of them that I made and the dusted with plaster dust.

Well this is what I have made so far, and I hope you all like what you see so far!

Very interesting. I've seen folks use quartz crystals, plastic, glass and other materials to simulate crustal, but I've never seen anyone actually grow crystals for terrain. Very interested in seeing how these turn out once completed.

Those are pretty big! How long did they take to grow?

They took about 12 hours or so, however there were very few large crystals as most of them were very brittle and broke apart. Though I will use them as ground cover and the like. After the glue is set I will take a better picture of the tokens because the crystals have a slight pinkish hue which you can't really see in the picture I took before.

I also see a package of resistors in one of those shots; were you considering lighting these up with LEDs? And where is that experiment? I like LEDs.

Oooo, this is a great idea. One I just may have to steal. Twisted Evil